• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 3E/3.5 Asking for Tips for newbie 3.5 Wizard

Kulstor

First Post
I have been playing in a 3.5 ebberon campaign and the gm there suggested maybe I could ask for some tips and such here since I'm new to the D & D system. I've played mainly gurps and bits of some other systems. Way back I did briefly play a 2nd edition cleric.

Not sure what information you need I"ll put some down.

My character is a Warforged wizard who just got to 2nd level. The other folks in the party are 2 clerics and a thief.

He has all level 0 spells from the 3.5 player's hand book.

The 1st level spells in his spellbook are: Cause Fear, Charm Person, Color Spray, Magic Missile, Repair Light Damage, Silent Image, Sleep, Summon Monster 1

He has some scrolls he has bought and 2 he made :

Charm Person, Comprehend Languages, Detect Secret Doors, Mage Armor, Reduce Person, Repair Light Damage, Unseen Servant.

The gm uses a spell point system. Not sure if it is an alternative system in the dmg, elsewhere or or one he made up. As such my char has 3 spell points since he is now level 1. If I recall what he said 1st level spells take 1 point to cast, level 2 take 2, though my char doesn't have any access to 2nd level spells yet so that is not important yet. Also he has no familiar. Not sure if I want one yet or not or which one.

Just asking, I guess, for general tips, best uses for certain spells, which ones I may want to get as scroll of , and or put into my spell book. I was thinking maybe putting mage armor into the char's spell book since the group is small my char often engages in melee whether he wants to or not. Not sure if you want any other info like his stats, ect.

Dannyalcatraz

Schmoderator
Staff member
Supporter