• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Austin, TX or Urbana-Champaign, IL???

Spell

First Post
hello all.
i am currently a music student in newcastle-upon-tyne, uk. my program allows me to go abroad in my third year (2006/2007). chances are that i might end up in the usa... but where?!?

i have two possibilities:
Austin, Texas (university of Texas) or Urbana-Champaign, Illinois (university of Illinois).

Is there anybody who can give me:
1. information about the music departments of said universities
2. information about the universities in general (how are the dorms, what's their campus life like, etc.)
3. information about the music scene in the city (any genre, from classical to dance. information about music festivals and annual events, venues, and music shops are good, too)
4. information about the role playing scene of the city

i know the request is a bit random, but i'd prefer to hear what real people says, rather than jump on google and read a zillion of websites designed by people that want to sell me that thier city is the best in the world (i'll do that, as well, don't worry...)

thanks in advance!

nakia

First Post
I've never been to Urbana-Champaign, but know a number of people in graduate school at Illinois. I lived in Texas for a few years and visited Austin frequently.

Go to Austin.

Illinois is a good school, but no one I know speaks very highly of U-C as a town. It's not horrible, from what I hear, just not all that interesting.