• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Been Thiking of starting my own D-20 company, where should I start?

eigam

First Post
I'm a professional Designer with some art skills. I have a few friends who are illustrators and writers who are interested in starting up a D-20 company. We've been putting together some stuff now for the past year. Now I'm starting to put some of it together, and it's looking professional. I read through the open gaming terms, and have looked into costs of printing. Not sure where else to start. I did start to write up a business plan. Any thought, hints, or tips out there? Thanks

Teneb

Explorer
eigam said:
I'm a professional Designer with some art skills. I have a few friends who are illustrators and writers who are interested in starting up a D-20 company. We've been putting together some stuff now for the past year. Now I'm starting to put some of it together, and it's looking professional. I read through the open gaming terms, and have looked into costs of printing. Not sure where else to start. I did start to write up a business plan. Any thought, hints, or tips out there? Thanks

Obvious question I guess, but have you looked through the Publishing FAQ stickied on top of this forum? Its got a heapin' helpin' of information. The biggest thing is to ask yourself "why do I want to do this?" If its to make money, I humbly suggest you take a long look at doing something else; the entry curve is REALLy high. If its for "the glory", that's great. However, my totally uneducated advice would be to estimate how well you'll do, and then at least halve it. I have no doubt you and yours have great ideas, but in my experience, folks seem to overestimate how well they'll do. Hate to sound harsh, but reality can be tough sometimes.