• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Chase Scenes - A how to?

Jurble

First Post
Hi all,
so ive grabbed some chase cards from one system and had a look into it in a few different ways, but im trying to work out how to run a chase scene in my game. Its a star wars SWSE game and id like to doa speederbike/swoop/speeder chase scene through a city.

Would it work like a combat scene, but instead of moving the distance, its mostly moving just the difference in distance between the pursuit and runners?

How do others run chase scenes in their games from a GMs perspective. Im fairly new to GMing so i guess more than specific SWSE rules for it, im looking for the

-how it works turn by turn
-how you describe it
-how you make it more interesting than "you move this far, you take a shot it hits/misses" etc.

really interested in peoples different ways of doing this :)

thanks alot! :)

Drammattex

First Post
If the chase occurred on foot, I would likely make a skill challenge. I'd use skills like Athletics, Streetwise, Perception, Insight, maybe even Stealth and Diplomacy ("Have you seen a tall man running by, blood on his hands?"). I'd set the DCs and complexity dependent on how much I cared whether the PC/PCs caught their mark. I'd rely exclusively on cinematic description and storytelling, doing the chase as a play by play -- aiming to describe something like that rooftop chase in Bourne Ultimatum, perhaps.

If the chase were to involve occasional combat, I'd keep some dungeon tiles and miniatures handy in order to show the relative positions of the combatants. In ranged combat, the chase would probably continue. In melee, it would likely end unless one combatant could knock the other prone or push him off a building, then make an escape.