CoS Rictavio Blue Water Inn performances (possible spoilers)

GHammy26

Explorer
Hello,

I'm saying "possible spoilers" in case I drop the ball or someone else comments a ball drop and ruins it for someone else.

Right, I've been playing CoS for a few years now with my players (we don't get chance to meet up much due to adulthood's inevitable obligations) and they are FINALLY getting to Vallaki next session... (see what I mean about not meeting up much)

I've changed Vallaki in the meantime as I have had a lot of time between sessions and got into some really good books based around very well fleshed out cities or towns which have personalities of their own. Anyway, I've been reading the CoS book and Rictavio is supposed to be a Bard, in the "Dice Camera Action" podcasts he is portrayed a storytelling Bard rather than an all singing/dancing one.

I love the idea of him telling wonderous stories to the Blue water Inn clientele which could possibly fill out the world a bit more for my players. I've thought of a couple to link a few other campaigns I'm playing together with this one as a few of the players participated in them and this.

Can you guys think of some short stories of daring-do or sights of wondrous measure that may capture the player's interest?

I'm wanting these stories to cause the players to want to talk to him as so far I'm trying to think of a good reason to introduce him to them other than say "hello I'm Rictavio lets be best ole buddies eh *wink wink*"

Any interesting stories you guys can think of or make up?

Thanks,
G

Sir_Lancian

First Post
I'm like you - don't play often, been DMing CoS for two years, I used the entries for "Rictavio's Journal" on page 102 as inspiration for strange tales from lands afar. Other suggestions may include drawing on Forgotten Realms, Dragonlance and Greyhawk novels, the works of Tolkien and even possibly Greek Mythology? What about some randomly generated inspirations from pages 72-75 of the DMG?