• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 3E/3.5 Creating D&D 3.5 Campaign

anest1s

First Post
Recently, I started to plan a campaign which I intent to DM sooner or later. I was thinking to plan as much as possible before I actually start playing it.

I have never done this before, and even though I have read the rules and guidelines of DMG I still think there are parts I do wrong (or I am in danger of doing wrong in the future). So here I am, asking for some advice :)

First of all, I have a general idea in my mind...what happens in the world, what the PC's have to do with it and what may be the ending of the story there are "bad" endings and "good" endings in my mind.

Notice, that by "story", I don't mean a short range adventure, but something longer (much,much longer).

So I have the "story", though its still flexible. I don't expect players to go trough a certain path which will lead them to the end instead I have thought of several points in the plots timeline, where the PC's will have to get involved (even by avoiding getting involved).

Now where is the problem; the problem is that I don't know where to start. I have thought some way to do this though.

First way, is to think of the overall plot, then divide it in huge parts (around the historic events that will happen).
For example: From the beginning until the war breaks out, from the start of the war until its end, from its end until the magic stops working etc (these were imaginary examples).

Then I am thinking of filling these parts with other, smaller events (like from when the players realize the cause of war, until it breaks out). I am thinking these sub-events as something that will happen during an adventure, or even an adventure themselves.