Dealing with depression, anxiety, and ennui

RJR-23

First Post
As a long-time sufferer from depression and long-time lurker on enworld, I thought the time was right to bring the two together.

As I enter the new year, I find myself struck with a case of the blahs. Not full-blown depression, by any means, but more like a kind of ennui, a feeling of aimlessness, tinged with anxiety about the future.

I love a wonderful wife and daughter, good parents, stable job, religious faith, etc. Life is good...objectively, I see that.

But I feel as if something's missing. Right now, the problem (I think, at least) has to do witih artistic aspirations. I'm a writer. Not an author, mind you. Just a writer. ;) I'm currently working on a writing project, a "young adult" novel, yet find it hard to make time to write, and find it equally hard to maintain the passion for the project.

Part of me wants to write a horror novel, a novel about depression itself, couched in a Silent-Hill type story. I'm planning to run a D20 Modern/Dark*Matter game along these lines, and RPGs have often fed my writing in the past.

I know I'm rambling a bit, for which I apologize. I guess I'm just unsatisfied with my current career (I'm a high school English teacher) and wanting to either be satisfied or get published and find satisfaction there.

I feel lonely, yet don't want friends. I think of the words of a song I've been hearing on the radio: "I am extraordinary, if you ever get to know me." I feel that no one wants to get to know me. My wife tells me that I need to reach out to others first...but I don't want to.

I don't know *what* I want sometimes.

Anyway, sorry for all the babbling. But I've been lurking in this forum for eight months now, and it seemed safe. :)

RJR-23

Crothian

First Post
Not an uncommon feeling really. These things happen to most people and one just has to learn how you yourself should best deal with them.

Darkness

Hand and Eye of Piratecat [Moderator]
RJR-23 said: