Dragonbane by Free League

aramis erak

Legend
I'm running my first game Tuesday, but I am going to nerf the monsters a bit. Characters have HP that don't change (there is no leveling) so if that goblin hits you twice, you are in trouble. That's not a complaint: I've been playing BPR games for 40+ years, but this system makes combat very deadly.
Goblins are not monsters.
They're NPCs. NPCs don't auto-hit.

Retreater

Legend
Are you sure you're talking about Dragonbane? After all, Dragonbane is Hit Points, no loss of capability until 0.
Tho' many Monsters can inflict conditions, those just apply a bane to a particular attribute, they don't change the number.

(Noting that Forbidden Lands DOES do attribute damage)
Yes. You push rolls and take damage to ability scores. For example, if you take damage to Intelligence, you become Angry which bestows disadvantage (2d20 and take worse result) on all Intelligence tests. This is in addition to HP damage.

aramis erak

Legend
Yes. You push rolls and take damage to ability scores. For example, if you take damage to Intelligence, you become Angry which bestows disadvantage (2d20 and take worse result) on all Intelligence tests. This is in addition to HP damage.
No, you don't take damage to them - the numbers don't change, and it's quite possible to have other boons that cancel or outweigh that. It's not damage because it doesn't meet the game's definition of damage, and doesn't match the common conception of "damage to attributes" where the numbers go down and come back up.

Further, death spiral? Hardly. 5 States a spiral doesn't make; each condition can only be taken once, and only two of them have direct combat relevance (STR & AGL), you have only three relevant states other than unimpaired by conditions that are relevant: str down, agl down, both down, and all filled +1 more taken, which is KO. There's also little lingering effect, no HP loss penalties.
SO not really a spiral, especially since only a subset do conditions.