• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E Dungeon Crawl Party Advice

DefiantDan

First Post
I am a long time veteran of D&D that is about to start my first D&Dnext game. We've decided to just toy around in a dungeon crawl. The usual patrolling monsters, trapped rooms, hazards and room encounters to be expected. I was just curious what an optimal party would entail. it seems like this version heavily supports Fighter/rogue/cleric/wizard. All content is available for use, dm is quite favorable towards illusion rulings. None of us are tied to a class, we just want the best chances of survival in enemy territory.

I am a long time veteran of D&D that is about to start my first D&Dnext game. We've decided to just toy around in a dungeon crawl. The usual patrolling monsters, trapped rooms, hazards and room encounters to be expected. I was just curious what an optimal party would entail. it seems like this version heavily supports Fighter/rogue/cleric/wizard. All content is available for use, dm is quite favorable towards illusion rulings. None of us are tied to a class, we just want the best chances of survival in enemy territory.

I'm not sure that any classes are required, but in a dungeon crawl there are certain roles you need to fill:

1) Investigation skill: Anyone can have this, though Rogues, Lore Bards and Wizards are likely going to be better than anyone else
2) Perception skill: Rogues, Lore Bards, Clerics and Druids will probably be your best perception bet
3) Thieves tool proficiency: Anyone can get this through either the Criminal or Urchin background. Rogues start with it
4) Control Magic: Wizards and Sorcerers are particularly strong in this area
5) Melee capability: So many choices. Barbarians, Paladins and Fighters are kind of the obvious choice