D&D 5E Equine travel, Longstrider, and other considerations

gigakraken

Villager
First of all, I enjoyed reading the following thread for an overview of travel pace as defined in the PHB 182: D&D 5E - Mounted Tavel Pace

Disclaimer: all my info about horses and their abilities have been gleaned from internet searches. I have no actual experience or clue if anything I read is factual.

1. Forced Gallop- how much longer could a rider force his horse to gallop past the 1 hour limit before it would physically give out?
    • Mechanically: use a handle animal (or in some circumstances possibly intimidate?) check to force the beast to continue running?
      • Grant advantage to all other riders in a group as long as 1 rider passes the check (herd mentality)
        • failure means the animal refuses to gallop and may even refuse to move at all for a short while
        • Success no more animal handling checks required (the animal is sufficiently spooked, panicked, cowed, etc.)
    • Mechanically: increase the frequency of con saves to each 15 minutes of gallop beyond the first hour (DC 10 + 2 / 15 min increment of forced travel)
      • success, another 2 miles traveled
      • failure, another 2 miles traveled and then mount acquires 1d3 levels of exhaustion (potentially reducing speed to 1/2 for the remainder of forced travel)
      • When the rider chooses to stop pushing his mount, another con save for the mount (with the DC 10 + 2 / 15 min increment of forced travel)
        • success 1d3 levels of exhaustion gained
        • failure 1d6 levels of exhaustion gained
  2. Longstrider- casting Longstrider on your mount increases base movement by 10' for an hour. How would this improve travel times?