• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

ERS Art Book - Colin C Throm

CCThrom

First Post
Hello All,

Seems this is going to serve as an introduction as well a process thread. I’ve been a lurker for some time, but haven’t posted until today. There are a few familiar names though.

Empty Room Studios is putting together an art showcase book. I'm more of a traditional artist than digital, and my bread-and-butter seems to be pencil these days, so I will be turning an author’s brief into pencil linework, ready for a colorist. You can follow my progress here if you are so inclined. Heh, enough blather... my brief was written by the talented and versatile Andrew Schneider:

Dungeonpunk:
Man-oh-man, Darla– my wife– is gonna kill me when I get home. If I get home.
I used to be a teacher, see, until a mid-life crisis sent my stumpy bespectacled self packing. I should’ve bought the next model pegasus or had a fling with one-o-them nymphs. But nooooo, I had to go and join the Trenchcoat gang.
Safe and middle of the road, I thought– bodyguard contracts, caravan duty, the like– and stylish. I mean, I always wanted a trenchcoat. So I figured hey, a few years of low-octane excitement and then I’d retire off the spoils. Or that’s what I told the wife.
Which doesn’t explain what we’re doing in the Blight, largest stretch of urban dungeon this side of town, following some round-heeled half-elf chit with a treasure map and a pretty face. But being a junior member, I don’t get a vote.
Bolgar’s the Bruiser, by the way. Seline’s got the Fireballs, and Jes is the Sniper and door-expert. Me? I’m Max, the Talker. I’d say Lover but, again, Darla...