• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

False Life (Necro Spell)

ARandomGod

First Post
False life is a pretty good spell... And I've never used it before, as I generally specialize and I've always gotten rid of necomancy before.

Now, looking closely at the spell, I don't see what's to stop a caster from casting this multiple times, and getting multiple benifits from the spell stacked one on the other. Well, other than a prudent DM call. So, tell me what I'm missing, (or realize how great it would be for a tenth level caster to cast THIS spell 5 times in a row!)

From the SRD:
False Life
Necromancy
Level: Sor/Wiz 2
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Personal
Target: You
Duration: 1 hour/level or until discharged; see text
You harness the power of unlife to grant yourself a limited ability to avoid death. While this spell is in effect, you gain temporary hit points equal to 1d10 +1 per caster level (maximum +10).
Material Component: A small amount of alcohol or distilled spirits, which you use to trace certain sigils on your body during casting. These sigils cannot be seen once the alcohol or spirits evaporate.

I feel that there HAS to be a rule stopping this, but I can't see what it is. Is there a simple rule that says that temporary hit points never stack, thereby making my vampiric touch horribly nerfed until I lose my false life? (And also mostly preventing me from using that spell back to back?)