• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

First time DM campaign diary

Ransom

First Post
So I'm throwing my hat into the world of DMing.

I'm starting the campaign with very inexperienced players. Majority have never played before.

I'm going to try and keep things simple but change up some things a bit.

I want to make Giants a little more civilized, higher int and cha but maintain some of their strenght bonus. (Any help with this would be appreciated)

I'm not very good at modifying monsters and figuring out the new CR.

I've come up with the BBEG, and seeing as the PC's will be 1st or 2nd level to start I'm hoping it will take several encounters and many sessions before they defeat him.

Also suggestions on where to find a cool map would be great.

Thanx

~Ransom

Ransom

First Post
Bbeg

Here is the proposed BBEG:

Limbrender
Large Giant/Despot 3
Hit Dice: 12d8+48 + 3d10+12 (102 + 27 = 129)
Initiative: -1
Speed: 30 ft. in hide armor (6 squares); base speed 40 ft.
Armor Class: 20 (-1 size, -1 Dex, +9 natural, +3 hide armor), touch 8, flat-footed 20
Base Attack/Grapple: +16/+27
Attack: Large Greatsword +17 (3d6 19-20 x2) or Large Greatclub +17 (2d8 20 x2)
Face/Reach: 10 ft./10 ft.
Special Attacks: Rock throwing, Smite Chaos 1/day, Detect Chaos
Special Qualities: Low-light vision, rock catching, Aura of Law, Divine Grace, Slippery Mind, Aura of Fear, Indomitable Will
Saves: Fort +13, Ref +4, Will +7
Abilities: Str 20, Dex 8, Con 19, Int 10, Wis 10, Cha 14
Skills: Climb +7, Jump +7, Listen +3, Spot +6, Bluff +8, Intimidate +10, Sense Motive +2
Feats: Cleave, Improved Bull Rush, Power Attack, Improved Sunder, Weapon Focus (greatclub), Weapon Focus (Greatsword), Persuasive
Challenge Rating: 10
Languages: Giant, Common

Limbrender is 10' 6" weighs 1,200lbs and is 107 years old.