• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Focusing on Combat Maneuvers... is it worth it?

Khitan

Explorer
Ok... since I'm new to PF I need your help again.
This time it isn't for a specific build but for a better understanding of the possibilities of combat xD

In PF there are a lot of CMs, from the usual ones (trip, bull rush, ecc...) to the APG's ones (dirty trick, ecc...). The mechanics are also simplier than in 3.5... so my question is: is it worth it to create a character focused in CMs? Wich ones are better and why? Which ones are really bad? Giving up a better damage output (and stuff like that) to trip/overrun/ecc... an enemy isa good choice? Why?

tylermalan

First Post
I guess it really heavily depends on what you mean by "worth it." First, let me get the obvious things out of the way...

If your party needs damage, it isn't worth it. If your party doesn't, it might be. If you need your feats for other things, it isn't worth it. If you don't, it might be.

With those things covered, I think the only two really worth focusing on are trip and grapple. If the enemy is prone because of a trip, that's a pretty big bonus for your group in terms of damage output and also in terms of tactical options (because it is a move action for the enemy to stand).

As for grapple, I'm playing in a Carrion Crown game right now, and just reached level 5 (started at level 1). The group has a druid with a snake animal companion, and this thing grapples all the time. It has turned every fight with 3 or less enemies into super easy mode. Of course, it gets bonuses to grappling that normal characters might not get, which means...

Enter the feats! So, if you spend the feats on them, it might be worth it. If you don't, it is definitely not worth it.

Dingo333

First Post
I would add bull rush to tylermalan's list