Graphic Design and the Aesthetics of Tabletop RPGs

reaglesham

Villager
I just wanted to share something I'm really proud of: the graphic design work I've done for my game, Warped: A Manic Multiversal TTRPG.

Gigaworm Spread Example.png

As a TTRPG designer, I put so much effort into my rules and mechanics, and that's where the heart of a game truly lies, but graphic design and aesthetics are so incredibly important when it comes to hooking players in and getting them invested in the game in the first place. Mork Borg, for example, is a very simple mechanical system and it is massively elevated by the style and artistic flair of its book. Monster Care Squad was inspired by Studio Ghibli and the artwork suitably compliments that inspiration. The aesthetic style also helps inform the players' actions: you're going to fear a towering beast rendered in the Mork Borg artstyle far more than Monster Care Squad's, for example. As such, I wanted a similar punchy, chaotic style to Mork Borg for my game (sans the heavy metal darkness). It's about deadly, reality warping adventures across the Multiverse, so I felt the graphic design had to be suitably wild and colorful.

Rift Spread Example.png

Just as there's something really satisfying about streamlining your game design, I get the same feeling looking at a piece of graphic design that hits just right. It really gives me energy to keep pushing forward! I really hope my work catches the imagination of the players, and with only 4 days left on the project's Kickstarter campaign (and so close to the funding goal), I'm getting ready to do more and more design work in the coming year!

Are there any games you've played where the aesthetics or graphic design have really struck a chord with you? Any that you felt shaped your playstyle in large part due to the aesthetic of the game?

Blue Orange

Gone to Texas