• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 4E Has anyone converted the Piercer to 4E?

Shag

Explorer
Hi! I don't start to many threads so I hope this is in the right spot.

I was wondering if anyone has already converted the Piercer to 4E, it is probably considered a Lurker Trap now, I guess. I'm pretty new to 4E, so I figured I'd see if anyone with more conversion and 4E experience has already converted it.

Thanks alot guys.

alumni_piercer2nd.jpg

I always loved these guys.
I remember one time my Mage got nearly clobbered by one of these guys. He thought they were so 'cute' that he grabbed up the now helpless Piercer and put him into his 'Hat of Holding" until he had the money to build a tower to then use it as a "Welcome Mat" hanging over the front door.

The Darkmantle Enveloper, level 8 Lurker in the MM2, is what the 2nd edition Piercer has morphed into. Thier original format, as shown here is hard to use in play.

I would suggest if you wanted a heavier Piercer feel, give the critter an encounter attack for its initial drop from the ceiling, usable only from surprise.

{edit} they changed thier file system on the link above. Scroll to the bottom and review the "1st Edition Monster Manual" posts

Last edited:

the Jester

Legend
In a dungeon with a lot of temporal distortion effects I had the following:

QUICK-GROWING PIERCER FIELD--- Level 15 Elite Blaster
Hazard--- XP 2400

From the ceiling, stalactites start raining down with deadly accuracy.

Hazard: The quick-growing piercer field covers the entirety of the western room of this encounter.

Perception
DC 21: The character notices that some of the stalactites seem to be moving. DC 25: The character also notices that some of them are growing visibly (albeit slowly).

Arcana