• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

HELP!! Demons, objects & Banishment!

Luca Cherstich

First Post
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It's my first time in this forum, sorry for my errros in english but I'm Italian!

Last night session ended with a great problem.
I need to fix it by monday night.
Please, tell me what you think about it.

During a fight a Demon (a Blood Fiend from the Fiend Folio) got an important artefact from a PC through the use of "dominate person" .
The round after another PC hits the Demon with a Banishing Maul (Book of exalted deed, p.113), a weapon with the same effects of the Banishment spell.
The demon fails the Saving Throw and goes back to the Abyss.

Here the problem: where is teh artefact?
I stpped the session due to the late hour, and baecause I have to decide what to do with the artefact.
If PCs lost this object my campaign will change a lot since it is the key to rule an army of 7000 tiefliengs.

The Argument is not explained in any of the books I've seen so far (core rules 3.5,BoVD, Fiendish Codex 1). I will see those books again (and maybe also the MoP orr the Planar Handbook).
What do you think about the situation?

A) HYPOTHESIS 1:
The artefact goes to the Abyss.
REASON WHY:
No rule covers the situation but usually, all the D20 spells (from Gaseous Form to Teleport) tend to effect both the creature and its equipment.
It is useless to look at the rules for possession in the BoVD or Fiendish Codex I: it is not a possessed object: the Demon was just holding it in his hand.

B) HYPOTHESIS 2:
The artefact does not go to the Abyss.
REASON WHY:
The spell makes the Demon going back its home plane, but the Abyss is not teh Home plane of the Artefact.
The spell should not have any effect on what is in the hand of a banished outsider.