• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E How Can A Party With So Many People Have So Many Needs! (Build Advice to Fill Said Needs)

Aeradom

First Post
To begin, I'm a newb here. And not just with 5th edition, but I've been out of the D&D game for a LONG time, like since before 4.0 came out. That being said, a lot of the basics I do still remember it's just I could use some help here. So a friend of mine said he was running a 5e game and invited me in. The game was a lot of fun incidentally, though I learned something pretty quickly. This party was one that liked to run in, hit stuff, and figure stuff out later. Well, that's a bit harsh I suppose, though from hearing of their past adventures, it's not too far off. Any who, with my assistance, we managed to resolve the first problem without blood shed by working out a trade deal with some giants for a valuable resource that was on their mountain. Afterwards we got to the actual fight and midway through I quickly realized how short on everything (except DPS) that the party was. Let me go ahead and break down the party:

1 Cleric who healed most of it (But will be leaving for college in two weeks)
1 Ranger DPS
1 Barbarian who splits Tanking/DPS duties
1 Monk DPS
1 Druid (Who wasn't around for most of the fight becuase she was sick)
1 Dual Wielding Fighter DPS
1 Paladin Tank/Off-Heal (That Was Me, I had to heal more than actual fight or tank though... the +4 to savings roll and the disadvantage to attack roll came in HANDY)
1 DPS NPC (Who was just there becuase the DM decided to through a CR 16 fight at the level 7 group).