D&D 5E How do I 5e?

Trogdor1992

First Post
I'm new to pbp games and I have only played 3.5/pathfinder at all. I've noticed most games here are for 5e and I'm itching to play so I'm eager to learn. What are the main differences between 5e and what I'm used to? Someone please help me in my conversion.

HEEGZ

First Post
You can check it out for yourself for free:

https://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/basicrules

Essentially it is simpler to play than 3.5 and pathfinder, but still robust and fun to play. There is a starter set you can pick up for cheap on amazon.com for like $12 which I highly recommend. But, have a look at the two sets of basic rules in that link and see for yourself.

Trogdor1992

First Post
I unfortunately am on a mobile device that doesn't read pdfs, im just looking for a short simple explanation of the key differences

AaronOfBarbaria

Adventurer
I unfortunately am on a mobile device that doesn't read pdfs, im just looking for a short simple explanation of the key differences
A simple explanation of the key differences?

Basically everything is different in some way, from the core mechanical assumptions of the game upward - and yet basically everything is pretty similar. It really does take a read-through of the basic rules to list the differences, since they are so many and so subtle in some places.

Here is a web version of the player's basic rules: https://dnd.wizards.com/products/tabletop/players-basic-rules0
Edit to add: and the DM's basic rules that I hadn't even realized made it to the web version yet: https://dnd.wizards.com/products/tabletop/dm-basic-rules
Perhaps that can be explored with whatever mobile device you have?

The major differences are classes/races. The rules are fairtly simmilar. The big differences are fewer bonuses and less stacking of bonuses and spells. But the play is simmilar.

PnPgamer

Explorer
how_do_i_shot_web__vector_by_misteralex-d5n6vlu.png

Baumi

Adventurer