How do you all make use of your grids?

Meech17

Adventurer
So I'm new to the world of gridded play. I ran my first session using it two weeks ago. First encounter I just drew out an area with symbols for statues and other obstacles. The second encounter I went all out and drew an entire eight room house that the PCs infiltrated. I had drawn it out and used pieces of paper as a fog of war, removing them as PCs entered rooms.

I can see the first method being the primary way to use a grid. The party enters a room with an encounter and I can draw out that specific room.

While the second method was really fun and had what I felt to be a large pay-off.. It was A LOT of work. Plus it was a pain. I drew it out the night before, and had to store the tiles in another room. While moving them I had to be super careful to not erase any of the marker.

Do you guys draw out entire dungeons? Or just specific rooms? Any other tips or tricks for a newbie to on-grid play?

Edit: I should have mentioned beforehand that I was primarily looking for answers regarding in-person play. I do enjoy hearing about the VTT options though.

Last edited:

Reynard

Legend
When playing in person and using a grid, I almost always bring dry erase Tac-Tiles and draw locations as needed. I prefer to do exploration or other activities in theater of the mind.

When I run on Fantasy Grounds, because that platform doesn't really have good sketch on the fly tools, I use pre-made maps and built in fog of war, lighting and line of site tools.

Meech17

Adventurer
When playing in person and using a grid, I almost always bring dry erase Tac-Tiles and draw locations as needed. I prefer to do exploration or other activities in theater of the mind.

When I run on Fantasy Grounds, because that platform doesn't really have good sketch on the fly tools, I use pre-made maps and built in fog of war, lighting and line of site tools.