OSR How to make a Witcher for OSE

kapars

Adventurer
Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to OSE and was wondering what would be the best way to make a Witcher? My initial thoughts are maybe race as class by combining Ranger with Half-Orc, the thought being they get Infravision (for a gold cost making Cat potion) but get a negative reaction from the general population? Where I run into trouble is getting the right combination of spells Shield (Quen), Produce Flame (Igni), Charm Person (Axii), and something for Aard? No spell list seems to do the trick.

Edit: For clarity this is from a homebrewing perspective

You could treat Shield, Flame, Charm and Aard as skills, instead of spells, usable once per turn. The Witcher is never a full caster (or even half or third caster), but uses their few tricks often and get better in using them in time.

Carcass Crawler #1, the 'zine from Necrotic Gnome themselves, does that to the Cleric and the Magic-User, creating an Acolyte and a Mage class. The Acolyte, for example has a limited number of spell-like skills that emulate Cleric spells, like Bless and Purify Food and Drink. They never get real spells, but they can use their skills without daily limits, rolling on a chance to activate.

Charm should be a temporary effect measured in rounds or turns. If you want it as powerful as Charm Person, the actual spell, make the skill usable once a day instead of a turn.

Yora

Legend
Just for confirmation, with ranger and half-orc we are talking Advanced Rules, right?