• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

I want to set people on fire.

jrients

First Post
I need to come up with a second Living Greyhawk character. I want to burninate my foes with my kewl arcane powers, but I have no experience playing a spellcaster in 3.5 D&D. Should I take a wizard or sorcerer? Any tips for feat selection, race choice, skills?

Thanee

First Post
Human Sorcerer

Skills: Concentration and Spellcraft, plus whatever you like.

Feats: probably Spell Focus (Evocation), Greater Spell Focus (Evocation) ;)

Later... Empower Spell, Sudden Maximize [Complete Arcane].

Spells: 0 - Detect Magic, plus some others you like; 1st - Burning Hands or Lesser Orb of Fire [Complete Arcane], plus one other you like and which will be useful at higher levels, too, i.e. Mage Armor or Shield or Ray of Enfeeblement or Magic Missile.

Later... 2nd - Scorching Ray; 3rd - Fireball. Other spell choices should offer some good utility and give you a broad range of abilities.

You could go for the Elemental Savant PrC in Complete Arcane.

Bye
Thanee

Plane Sailing

Astral Admin - Mwahahaha!
I don't know living greyhawk, but if psionics is allowed, aim to get into Pyrokineticist prestige class ASAP.

Otherwise Sorcerer is my favourite. Strangely many fire spells don't set people alight (I think burning hands may still do so). Useful feats that are probably unavailable to you include clinging spell (a spell variant of clinging breath from draconomicon) and the searing spell (name?) from Sandstorm which allows fire spells to affect creatures with fire resistance or immunity.

n.b. burning hands text, my emphasis. Still your best bet for setting light to people.