I'm going to play Night's Black Agents for the first time -- what do I need to know?

Whizbang Dustyboots

Gnometown Hero
After years of trying to find a game, I'm getting to play NBA this year at GenCon Online. The idea of the game is amazing but I have zero actual play experience with either the game or Gumshoe.

Any advice?

MGibster

Legend
I've run one game of NBA as well as Trail of Cthulhu and Mutant City Blues which uses the same basic system. Here's my advice.

1. Remember, if the character has the pertinent Investigation skill then they don't have to spend any points to get the core clue. i.e. If they need Architecture to find the hidden alcove where the body was hidden so they can advanced to the next scene, they don't have to spend a point to do it.

2. Only have players spend their Investigation points if they're going to get anything out of it. They might be rewarded with additional information that allows them to skip a scene, a clue that will tell them the vulnerability of an enemy, or whatever you decide. If there's nothing to be gained by spending points, just tell the player.

3. Don't be afraid to tell the players when they've found all the clues. i.e. Just say, "You have found all the useful information to be found during this scene." It will help prevent them from wasting a lot of time looking for clues that don't exist.

4. Don't forget about Stability. For the first few sessions, I completely forgot about it, but it's an important part of the game.

Piratecat

Sesquipedalian
Google and grab my "GUMSHOE 101" one page cheat sheet.

Also, check out the short PbP encounter I ran here called COUNTDOWN. It makes for a great fast tutorial on mechanics and tone.

Mostly, I think it's useful to remember that you're running a movie, so skewing to cinematic logic over tactical may make sense at times.

Whizbang Dustyboots

Gnometown Hero
So, just finished the game, which was taken from the Dracula Dossier.