• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

I'm kissing D&D good-bye: here's why

Cowpie Zombie

First Post
Because D&D is obviously Satanic, I simply can't play it anymore. So I'm kissing it good-bye.

Just kidding. :p

Here's the real reason. Oh, where to begin? Well, I'll give you the short version: I've been playing RPGs since 1981, when, as a 10-year-old schmuck in Grade 6 (or "Sixth Grade" as the Americans like to say ;) ) I did my very first Basic D&D dungeon crawl. Ahhhh, those were the days...(wipes tears from eyes, continues typing)...over the intervening years I've played tons of RPGs, too many to list. I've played PBP, PBEM, face-to-face, computer, free-form, you name it (but no LARP, thank heavens).

But times change, and I now find myself a 33-year-old high school teacher, happily married with a precious little 1-year-old daughter. And very limited time. And, unlike when I was in grade 6 or high school or even university, I have many other interests in my life besides games. (My life in university consisted of four things: classes, video games, RPGs, and the Internet).

Now I love D&D 3.0/3.5, but I've decided that I would rather pour all my limited RPG time and energy into a single game, rather than dabble in various games. To put it another way, I'd rather be a master of one game than a student of many. And for my one game, I've chosen d20 Modern. The reasons are largely unimportant; suffice it to say that they are mere preferences. So although I love D&D, I love Modern more, and I've decided that Modern will be my focus from now on.

So I'm going to sell off all my D&D stuff (including my rather sizable collection of miniatures) and focus on becoming a true zen master of d20 Modern.