D&D 5E I'm running an adventure for first time players this weekend

BookTenTiger

He / Him
This weekend I'm running a D&D game for some coworkers who have never played D&D! I'm very excited. I have a lot of experience in teaching new players, and I thought I would collect some of my thoughts here:

The Characters

I'm going to pregenerate six or so characters, except for race. I'll give everyone fixed stats which race won't effect, but I want the players to be able to have some choice in their character. I'm going to try to focus on more easily-run classes, so I might do:
  • Barbarian
  • Cleric (with fixed spells)
  • Fighter
  • Paladin
  • Rogue
  • Sorcerer

The Adventure

I want a short adventure (2 to 3 encounters) with room for combat, exploration, or social encounters, depending on how the players approach things. Here's the summary I came up with:

Tower of the Caged King
A curse has beset the realm: swarms of crows blacken the skies, and descend on farms, eating everything in their shadows. The Queen has sent out adventurers to all corners of the realm, searching out any rumors connected to this terrible disaster. Locals in Wolfsback Ridge have told you of the Tower of the Caged King. Long ago, a greedy tyrant was pulled from his throne and locked up in a cage atop a tower, guarded by Knights of the Silver Unicorn. The tyrant's greed was no abated. From his cage, he trained crows to steal baubles and coins from local folk. Centuries have passed, and the tower is now abandoned, but it is said the tyrant's spirit still haunts the land.

I'm going to start the characters right at the entrance to the tower.

Encounters

Each of the three stories of the tower will have a different encounter:

Ground Floor