• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Is it still D&D?

cougent

First Post
OK, I am not trying to start a big bruhaha here, just postulating.

I started playing AD&D in 1981. I played for years, then took a break and played other stuff during the 2E decade. Not out of disdain or anything, just somehow got sidetracked and didn't make it back until *tada* 3E came out in 2000. Where i rejoined the D&D community, but even then I felt like it was different.

"This is not the D&D I remember"

I adapted, I got used to 3E, the stuff I liked and disliked, and I accepted that *it* was D&D.

However, now I am again feeling that strange "not quite right" sensation that I felt back in 2000. I actually like most of what I am hearing about 4E, but it just doesn't "feel" like D&D to me. It feels like a potentially cool NEW game. Whether I personally call it WD&D (WotC D&D) or whatever, just doing that makes it very much more palatable to me... just think of it it as a different game, not my treasured D&D, or my even fonder AD&D. OK that may be extremely lame to many of you, but with all the massive changes that are being discussed you have to agree it is not the same game, just the same name.

Which brings up my next personal dilemma: If I am switching to a NEW game, which new game do I switch to? WD&D, or any of the myriad of other ones out there that I have not yet tried, but that is another topic.

Crothian

First Post
Nothing out now not even the same game of D&D you started with will be the D&D you remember. I wouldn't chase down a phantom of your past you'll never catch and learn to enjoy the current games for what they are.

Nikosandros

Golden Procrastinator