KotS Magic Items: Not using the same Rules as the Economy Excerpt?

Tarril Wolfeye

First Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but the Economy Excerpt said the following:
If you're level n you get magic items level n+1, n+2, n+3 and n+4

Contrary to this KotS gives you this (if bag of holding is level 4):
1x level 1, 2x level 2, 3x level 3, 3x level 4, 2x level 5, 1x level 6

This would be correct if you would get level n, n+1, n+2 and n+3 at level n.

Well, which is correct?: excerpt or KotS ?

I hope it's KotS. Else it would be a BIG mistake in a published adventure
:close:
 

log in or register to remove this ad

KotS does not follow the official 4e D&D rules exactly. Some or simplified, some are ignored. Don't take it too seriously. It's just meant to whet your appetite.
 

It follows the rule. You just have to take into account that its an adventure that takes you from level 1 to 3.

At level 1 you get:
L1, L2, L3, L4

At level 2 you get:
L2, L3, L4, L5

At level 3 you get:
L3, L4, L5, L6

Total
1xL1, 2xL2, 3xL3, 3xL4, 2xL5, 1xL6

In other words, just what you said they got.
 

But that's not what he said at all:

The OP said N+1, N+2, N+3 and N+4...which is not what it seems this module does.

What the OP said is what was previewed.
 

You are right, KOTS says n, n+1 ... n+3, while the excerpt says n+1 ... n+4

Personally, I think the excerpt might be the one thats wrong here...
 

Er, it's "during" the course of levelling that you get the items.

Level 1 -> Leve 2
1 x L2, 1 x L3, 1 x L4, 1 x L5

Level 2 -> Level 3
1 x L3, 1 x L4, 1 x L5, 1 x L6

Since you end the adventure at level 3, you should have a LVL 6 item as the most powerful item.
 

actually, the economy article clearly states that a level 5 party will receive a level 6, 7, 8 & 9 item on their way to achieving level 6.

KotS also states that by the end of the adventure, the players should be close to achieving level 4.

The magic item distribution by the economy article should be:
0xL1, 1xL2, 2xL3, 3xL4, 3xL5, 2xL6, 1xL7

And by KotR it is:
1xL1, 2xL2, 3xL3, 3xL4, 2xL5, 1xL6, 0xL7

There is obviously a difference in the one less L5, L6 & L7 items, but you do get an extra L1, L2 & L3 item.

Either way, I don't really see one way being entirely worse than the other, nor should either be game breaking. It's unfortunate that they posted one thing and published another, but it's close enough to the goal marker to just let it stand.
 

I cannot remember a single adventure module in the entire history of D&D that was completely accurate in its placement of treasure. These are just guidelines, after all!
 

Remove ads

Top