• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Little Extra Rewards

Chad Hooper

First Post
Howdy, all.

I thought I'd share a few things I use in my campaign to reward a player for roleplaying above and beyond the call of duty besides flat XP rewards, treasure, or magic. Maybe some other GMs are looking for ideas, or maybe others have some of their own they can share here as well. If you're a player, couldn't hurt to run one or more of these past your GM, right:cool:

Roleplaying Bonuses (RP Bonus): I've been using these since 1990-something. A player does something really cool in character, I give them one of these and they make a hash mark to keep track of how many they have. Each RP Bonus is a +10% cumulative multiplier on all earned XP when next tallied up (we often go multiple sessions before totaling XP and doing level-ups). It is possible for a really creative player to double (or more!) earned XP this way. I chose percentage multipliers because they remain meaningful as levels and XP awards increase as PCs advance and face higher-level challenges. It's far less hassle than assigning a flat XP amount as a reward when somebody does something so cool it impresses me.

Hero Dice: I recently adopted this rule from THAC0dragon.com, you can read the details there. I give each player two such dice at the start of each session and allow carry-over of up to one unused one from one session to the next. These can be given out as an alternative to the RP Bonuses outlined above.