Lizard Bait Updated 10/27/06

DM-Rocco

Explorer
Greetings all, I am a bit new to the story hour, but I have told a few that I would throw my hat into the arena and see how others liked what I had to write about.

A bit of background for this story, I had went to see Margaret Weis in Lake Geneva a few years ago to have her sign my hard cover collection of Weis and Hickman books. She was very grateful that a dedicated reader would travel so far just have her signature. I got her e-mail address and we write each other from time to time, just to stay in touch, and it was in one of these e-mails that I asked her if she would view one of my stories, to which she said, “no“. :(
Her lawyers have forbidden her from doing such things, however, she was in the final stages of accepting proposals for a new anthology based in DragonLance. Even though the final selection date was less than one week away, she suggested that I send her a short story, set in the world of Krynn, and if she liked it, she would use it. This also got around the whole lawyer thing.:D

Of course I was honored, so I set out to find a plot, and plot I came up with. She gave me good feed back, said I had good characterization and a vivid imagination, but that I lacked the ability to keep the story within the confines of the space allowed. She could tell that the story had more to it and that by limiting it to a short story I was not doing the story justice, so she declined the story, stating that not everyone can write a short story, some people are better at longer tales, which I took as a compliment.;)

Anyway, I started to write down the beginnings of the story, but have never found the spare time to finish it, but I think I can now, at least I had better give it a try, as I am expecting my son to be born any month now and every one tells me I will have no time to do such things once he comes into my world. :heh: