• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

My newbie mistakes in D&D

lukelightning

First Post
Waaaay back when I started playing D&D I misinterpreted lots of things.

I thought cure light wounds only cured wounds caused by light (sunburn and lasers or something).

Magic missile shot rocket-type missiles.

I thought find familiar meant you became familiar with something, like "I think I recognize this person, I find his face familiar."

Burning hands was a spell that made your enemies' hands light on fire (not a bad idea for a spell, btw).

Raise dead was a levitate spell that only worked on corpses.

I thought a cleric was a shopkeeper (as in "clerk"). And for some reason these shopkeepers could become undead (the DM said they could "turn undead").

And I totally didn't understand the old system of ranges; distances were all in "inches" and I thought spells totally sucked "what do you mean my magic missile spell has a range of 12 inches?!?!? that's only a foot!"

Henry

Autoexreginated
When I was young, I didn't even completely understand the hit charts, or how to use the various dice, so I made it all up as DM. :D It wasn't until age 14 or so that I even completely understood said hit charts! (And I never used grapple, because using a d20 for one thing and percentile dice for another combat type action blew my little mind.)

eris404

Explorer
Those are fantastic. The first time I played, I was the DM and not knowing any better, I read practically everything in the module outloud, not just the boxed text. Plus I mispronounced everything.

Me: You see three....kol-bolds.
My sister: What's a kol-bold?
Me: I don't know. Maybe it's this dog-like thing in this picture.
(shows the module)
My sister: What does AC7 mean?
Me: Hey! You're not supposed to look at that. They have 10 copper pieces each.