• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

New DM and virgin players

Superj3nius

First Post
My friends haven't played D&D 3.5 (or any D&D for that matter) and I am DMing a little campaign to the 5th level. I am running a variation of the Shattered Gates of Slaughtergarde. It's the same world and towns and backstory. This is my first time DMing, ;) however I have played up to the 8th level in other campaigns. I was wondering on ways to make the campaign a little more fun. They aren't serious gamers and the closest thing I have to an experienced player is people who have played Fallout 3.:-S I want to slowly make things more D&D esque but at the begining I want to make it lighter on the rules and what not. Though, this leads to difficulties, should I have traps:devil: (and have them learn the hard way about D&D)? Should my Challenge ratings for enemies be easier? I don't think the spellcaster will be experienced in anything so I am kinda on counting him acting as a sorcerer who fights. Should I throw in magic weapons (to add more excitement to the game)? I have a lot of questions and I am willing to accept any help I can get. Thanks :lol:

BENINHB

First Post
I suggest starting at level 1 with the basics. This will make them appreciate the goodies they pick up along the way.

I also don't always go by the XP per level chart, especially at low levels. Have them run a couple encounter then give them a level and some items. Do this til level 3 or 4 to get them used to the game and to make them excited about all the fun toys they have to play with. After that you can turn up the difficultly and start to bring the pain.

Incanur

First Post