• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

New Line of D&D Card Counters

opteryx

Explorer
Hello, new here, and I thought I'd see what the gaming community thought of my idea. I'm a designer/illustrator that's been playing D&D since the early 80's. I realize as great as a table full of painted miniatures look, it's not always practical. I've been looking at the 3 existing card counters I know of and none of them really seem to stack up to what I want to see. I only own SJ's, so correct me if I'm wrong on the others. They are:

Steve Jackson's Cardboard Heroes: Pros: Look great, stand up with front and back sides; Cons: don't confer sizes well, don't really adhere to D&D mythos, PC's look dated

Dragon Scale: Pros: dry erase friendly, show game scale well; Cons: VERY amateur artwork

Firery Dragon: Pros: some nice art, show game scale well; Cons: "portrait" style art, I prefer being able to see the entire character dynamically

I've always been disappointed with Wizards' plastic minis. So I've decided to use my powers for the forces of awesome and make my own card counters!

I'm starting a Dark Sun campaign soon, so I'd focus on that first, what I'd like to know from you: what would you prefer to see? Stand up counters similar to Steve Jackson's, or flat counters. Both would be numbered obviously for record keeping (eg. 1-02, counter set 1-counter #02). Flat counters would come many more to a pack, and I was thinking double sided, the second side showing the creature/character bloodied.

Please let me know what you think, given those pros and cons.

And just to show some credentials: www.skwidcreative.com

Thanks, look forward to your responses!

opteryx

Explorer