• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

New Spells for Lvl1 Wiz

Chupacabra

First Post
New campaign starting up soon. I've played D&D since back in the day, but this is my first time to run an arcane caster under the 3.5 (or 3.0 for that matter) rules. Previously I've stuck with sword swingers, divine casters, or trap-springers (or some combo of the 3).

For the new campaign I created a human wizard (non-specialized), highest stat is 15 (+2 bonus) which of course went to INT. That gives me a whopping 5 level 1 spells to choose from. The campaign is going to be fairly standard, based on my past experiences with this DM. So I'm expecting a mix of combat, investigation, and social interaction. The setting is pretty standard also, typical Greyhawk-esque world. No side trips to the Underdark or Eberron or other planes are contemplated.

I was thinking along the lines of this line-up:

Charm Person
Mage Armor
Magic Missile (although I hate to be cliche)
Sleep and/or Color Spray and/or Hypnotic Pattern

Something like that. Any hints, tips or suggestions?

Thanee

First Post
Color Spray and Sleep are both very good choices. The first has the advantage of being more useful in combat (shorter casting time) and still useful in a few levels, where Sleep quickly becomes obsolete, while the other one has a better range.

Ray of Enfeeblement is also a really good 1st level spell. Your fighter buddies will love you for helping them to receive less hurt in the frontlines. ;)

Other than that, your spell choices look pretty solid. Magic Missile could also be replaced by something else (Disguise Self can be nice, or Enlarge Person, or Featherfall), you could still pick up Magic Missile later (5th+) as a scroll or learn it from a teacher.

Bye
Thanee