• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

newbie Familiar and Feats questions

Kulstor

First Post
My character is level 2, almost half way to level 3. I have no familiar as of yet, but I was wondering if I should get a familiar and what type may be best.

Also I think I get a feat at level 3. A bit early maybe but since I'm new to 3.5 I was wondering some opinions also for some feats I may want to get once my warforged wizard gets to level 3.

Not sure what information you may need me to put down.

PolterGhost

First Post
Familiar Handbook is great for if you grab Improved Familiar. Gives you a great idea what to go for.

If you level every other session, I'd advise waiting around for that since the cost for unsummoning a familiar (a paltry 200xp per character level lost, plus an annoying Year-and-a-day wait time for summoning a new familiar) can make it difficult to obtain a new one in reasonable time.

If you have a Druid in the party that can Speak With Animals, grab a bat, a hawk, or an owl for excellent scouting. I'd personally go for the bat since it offers Blindsense and sports some good stealth skills, but a hawk can be upgraded for some extra combat use and offers a +3 to Spot (far better than a +3 to Listen in most cases.)

Otherwise, remember that your familiar isn't JUST there for giving you a skill boost. It's there for delivering touch spells on the fly (buffing, damaging, and the rest) as well as being combat capable with a proper Transmutation spell. Preferably you will want a flying familiar since they have faster movement speeds, can maneuver out of the line of fire, can gain the usage of the wonderful flying feats, and can (with flyby attack) deliver a spell charge and return halfway to you in the same movement.