• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Newer DM needs advice on Dungeon tiles

Gravedust

First Post
I would like to shore up a collection of a few sets... should I buy the newer sets? Or the older ones? I've never used these before, but I'd like to pick some up as I'm using minis in our group and they seem like a good option.

Thanks!

Treebore

First Post
They are a good option and if you can get older sets start with them. If you like those get some more until you think you have enough.

SlyFlourish

SlyFlourish.com
Supporter
A lot of the newer sets have everything you'd need. The older sets don't really have that many unique pieces that you can't get away without them.

The main thing I'd recommend is using black posterboard and blue sticky tack to build out your encounter rooms ahead of time.

Some of the older sets are out of print, so if you can find them buy them! (and maybe then resell them on Ebay ;-)

I usually request a player at the table organise the tiles which aren't being used into same-shaped piles so I can limit where I have to look when setting up something new.

Rechan

Adventurer
I find them a little hard and unwieldy to use. They move around with a bump, it's difficult to set them up in a quick fashion for a surprise battle, and I'm generally unsatisfied with them.

Treebore

First Post
I find them a little hard and unwieldy to use. They move around with a bump, it's difficult to set them up in a quick fashion for a surprise battle, and I'm generally unsatisfied with them.

I have a heavy dinner table, so bumping is never a problem for me.

They work faster for surprise battle than anything else I have, which is vinyl battle maps, numerous flip maps, etc... Maybe I just have them better organized into sizes and terrain types?