• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E Non-Scaling Class Specialties: Why Choose Them?

So, I'm still learning D&D 5E, and I'm reading through the classes in the PHB again. As I do so, I'm asking myself what choices I would make if I were going to play a fighter, cleric, etc. This leads me to ask: what would be the reasoning for taking a non-scaling class specialty? Let's look at the fighter, for example. In looking at the choices in fighting style, there are some choices that give you an absolute, non-scaling benefit (like a +1 to AC with Defense, or a +2 to damage with Dueling). In the case of Dueling, +2 damage seems pretty impactful at lower levels, but when you've significantly increased in level, is that increase really going to be as beneficial as a fighting style that isn't so dependent on an absolute number? Other classes have similar options, so my question is intended to apply more broadly to them, too.

Please keep in mind, I am still new to this and not a tactician or well-versed on the mathematics of it all. Just honestly curious why a person would choose a specialty of this type.

PS: I'm assuming that with bounded accuracy, these non-scaling benefits might not be as seemingly limited as they seem. Having not played higher level characters yet, perhaps I just don't have the proper context...

Rocksome

Explorer
I'm playing a 12 level Warlock that just multi-classed into fighter. For most of my career I wore Plate Armour (through feats) so I had an 18 AC. I chose the defensive fighting style and even at my level the benefit is significant.

keterys

First Post
Benefits to d20 rolls don't need to scale. +1 AC is 5% less chance to be hit at all levels.