• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Oldest campaign setting(s)?

Dristram

First Post
I've been playing D&D (actually AD&D) since 1983 (13 years young! sigh). I was first introduced to the game through OD&D, but quickly became the DM and bought the AD&D books and WoG boxed set and was Greyhawk all the way until 1993 when I could only find FR games to play in.

So, there are two campaign settings that I've heard about, only recently, here and there that are considered classic settings. They are Blackmoor and Mystara. I had always thought of the WoG as the oldest setting. So, which is the oldest setting? Greyhawk? Mystara? Blackmoor?

Also, which set of rules applied to them. It seems like Mystara was an OD&D setting. What about Blackmoor?

From what I have read, I always thought that MAR Barkers Empire of the Petal Throne was the oldest published setting. For some reason, I want to think that TSR published it, before any other setting was released. I could be wrong though.

tsadkiel

Legend
Depends. I believe Blackmoor was the first setting played in, but the setting itself wasn't published until after Greyhawk (IIRC). When TSR published Blackmoor, it was placved in the prehistory of Mystara. there's also a Blackmoor in Greyhawk, and the Judges Guild version of Blackmoor placed it in their house setting.