• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

(OT, Life) Tutoring Job

Chriskaballa

First Post
So I'm 13. I'm an 8th grade math student doing 10th grade honors math. I've just been hired by someone to tutor a 5th grade girl in basic math. I know this is an ambiguous thing, but for those who have done this before, I ask: How much do I charge? I mean, it's basic math (multiplication & division) and I will be doing this for the first time, but I don't want to overcharge or undercharge. What do you all out there think is a fair price?

-Chris

Wolfspider

Explorer
I oversee a tutoring center at a community college. Tutors with MA degrees get paid $15 an hour. If they have a BA, it's $10. $5 for anything less.

I would say $5 an hour would be a fair price. You could probably get more--maybe even $10--I know I was back in my youth.

Good luck!

Mark

CreativeMountainGames.com
It depends on whether or not you "Luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuvvvvvvv" her! :D

Just kidding, Chriskaballa! Congrats on the job. Figure your monthly gaming costs, divide by the number of tutoring hours, and start from there... ;)

Rybaer

First Post
Well, I did a similar thing to you, but I was a bit older when I started and had prior teaching experience through other activities. I was a senior in high school, taking calculus at the time. The student was in 7th grade, I believe. They offered me $10/hr for a single hour-long session a week. We occasionally had an extra session before tests.

As you're a bit younger, I think $5/hr would be appropriate. Especially while you're seeing how it works out.

Good luck and hope you enjoy the experience. Teaching others, even easy material, gives you a better fundamental understanding of how it works and can be quite rewarding.

-Rybaer

EverSoar

First Post