• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

[OT] PDA advice

Lady Starhawk

First Post
I am looking into purchasing a PDA sometime soon. I have never looked into these seriously and would like some advice from people. Basically I want to be able to take word and text files and move them from my PC to be able to read them on the PDA.

I would like to spend under $200 (and preferably less than that) but I don't know where to start and what features are necessary and what features are just not useful.

Lady Starhawk

Purple

First Post
Well, I've been using a Palm OS device for about 3 years now, so I might be able to make some suggestions. Most PDA's out there can put a word or text file on them, but if you are looking to spend under $200 then you are probably going to have to go with Palm OS, not a Pocket PC.

If you are going to want to put a lot of documents on your Palm, you will probably want to look for a device that has an expansion slot. Most of the newest Palm devices, as well as the Sony Clie Handhelds, have one that you can store your documents on. I have a Palm M515 with a 64MB SD card, and I have about 30 MB of documents and books on it. It takes a minute to read the card to find all of them, but I find it really convenient.

I use the address book, datebook and notepad all the time. They are very easy to use, and I have my life organized on the datebook. I read ebooks on it often (when I am in a line, or just somewhere that I can't bring a book), as well as playing a lot of different games.

If you are planning to use it to take notes or do any e-mail or writing, you might want to look into getting a keyboard, as it makes the PDA into something like a less expensive notebook for some things, but that will probably be something to look at once you get a device.