• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

PC Rest Times/Configurations

starkad

First Post
So here's the scoop.. I've been running D&D games off and on for 15 years or so.

I love running, and there used to be almost no stumbling blocks for me.. With 3rd edition, it resparked my interest in learning and keeping players interested.

The one thign I have problems with, in any edition or system, is how my PCs rest. I jsut don't see a group of 4-6 people resting for 10 hours. Each PC needs rest, and the wizards and clerics especially need to get theirs for their spells.

So how do you handle resting in your game?

And how do your PCs handle it?

LostSoul

Adventurer
starkad said:

Either they are sleeping, or they're just hanging out, talking, eating, discussing what's been going on and what they're going to do. They're having a drink, a smoke, telling jokes and stories, polishing up their weapons and armour, that kind of thing.

starkad

First Post
Yeah, but do they set watches?

How long is their rest time?

How long does each person watch?

How much time do the mages/clerics get for resting and memorization?

It is a little hard to believe that for 10 hours or so a party of 4-6 people stop in an abandoned room and just hang out. I kind of did away with that by going to another magic system that requires mana points and you get some back depending on your activity level. My pc's can rest for an hour or two rather than 8 or 10. It works a little better this way when they are in a dungeon. I went this route for several reasons, including the fact that I dislike intensly the 'Vancian' system. beyond that, once the cleric of mage shoots their wad, they are done. It made for a situation where they would have one or two average combats, a major one, and the cleric would need to rest... I like this much better.