• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Playing without minis... an exercise in brainstorming

DSRilk

First Post
Warning: I go way back to the white box with three little brown books, so some of these opinions may be tainted by nostalgia.

Okay, back when I started playing there were miniatures, but I didn't use them and it never occurred to me that I was missing anything. In a way, it was very freeing. Not to mention the fact that it let me play games in the car and school bus. I ran a game last GenCon that had no battle map or minis for the first time in many, many years and thought it felt much less encumbered than having to figure out exact movements and such. So my question is this: how can we adapt 4e to a non-mini's environment?

When playing without minis, I generally think of the characters as being in zones. Characters that are very near each other are in the same zone. A character can either be engaged in the zone or not. If they are, they're in melee range. If not, they're just outside of melee range.

For those at home that want to try this, it is best if you at least sketch out rough locations on paper - especially if there are lots of creatures (as there are in most 4e encounters). Note that we don't talk about being in "zones" when we play, we talk about whether or not we're near a target (disengaged in the same zone), in melee with it (engaged in the same zone), or far from it (in another zone).

Here are some thoughts on 4e effects that would need to be modified:

Movement
  • Speed > 2: move to a zone of your choice (either engaged or disengaged) - draw OAs if you're engaged with one or more enemies in your zone