Quick Question on adapting FATE

Emerikol

Adventurer
After some thought about trying to bend D&D 5e to my playstyle, I began to entertain the idea that perhaps FATE would require less bending.

I bought FATE CORE, and FATE System Toolkit at Gen Con. My only issue with FATE and the major reason I avoided it in the past was their use of dissociative mechanics. Since D&D has dived right in though Fate deserves to be houseruled as much as any other game and I'm starting to think that perhaps it might be easier and afford me a better experience.

Some background.
I am a world builder. I love crafting involved and detailed settings. It's just a tiny step from crafting an intricate immersive D&D world to crafting the additional rules for FATE that are specific to the setting. So every time I do a setting I just develop the extra rules I need to make that setting come to life. In this way as I vary my creative processes from campaign to campaign, I can tweak the rules for flavor more easily.

So my first thought was that I needed to put some "meat" on the bones of the basic fate system. In many ways the same thing games like Dresden Files did. I have my own ideas though so my own meat might vary from what others have done.

Goals I would have for my game
1. Peasant to super heroic span as people level up.
2. Perhaps a clearer sense of advancement in a level like way. Not a big deal. You just get so many skill advancements each time you level.
3. A broad array of Aspects broken down into things you get at birth, during level up, and as you play.
4. A rich and plentifully vibrant magic item list.
5. A rich and plentifully vibrant magic system.

Things I'd have to fix
1. I don't like metagaming. So players choosing to stick to character in order to get a reward (compels) is not the approach I'd use.