• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Raven Queen Cleric - Roleplay Problem

Deodatus

First Post
Hi,
first of all, greetings, I am new to the forums :).

I started playing D&D4e a couple of month ago in a group of 6 players and one DM, so far it has been a blast. I was familiar with the D&D universe and did not want to play some kind of cliche character, like a pelor cleric or something like that. So I chose to go with a Raven Queen Cleric, adding a dark touch to my leader and allowing me to play a character that has dark sides to him.

Now my interpretation of the Raven Queen is that pretty much anything goes, as long as you dont create undead or fiddle with the souls of the dead. This concept worked pretty good so far, as a good natured party would naturally stay away from such things. Up until now.

Yesterday our wizard found the Helm of the Seven Deaths as a campaign reward (an item that allows you to capture souls of slain enemies and use these souls later to trigger some powers). He jokingly mentioned his need for souls before and my character regareded to it as that, jokes or bragging. Now at the moment my priest is still blissfully unaware of the powers of this helmet, but once he knows, its going to be a tough decision how to react.

So after this rather long explanation, here is my question to you guys. Can you think of any elegant RP ways to handle this without bringing major conflict to the party? I really dont want to create inner party tensions, but I dont want to betray the beliefs of my character either.
Swapping the character out of the party would also be an option, since this is the end of a campaign, but I kinda think this is the cheap way out.

Quickleaf

Legend
[MENTION=6688284]Deodatus[/MENTION]
Hi and welcome to ENWorld!