Reach for a medium-sized character with a small-sized spiked chain

maggot

First Post
Say a human picks up a small-sized spiked made for a halfling. He can wield it as a medium weapon at -2 to hit. Does he still get reach?

Could you dual-wield small-sized spiked chains? Or how about a small-glaive in one hand and a light weapon in the other. That way you would have reach all the time.

What about a large-sized ogre wielding a human-sized spiked chain? Does he get reach? Does it really go to 20' when the chain itself only goes to 10' in a human's hands?

Help! I'm getting a headache.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

maggot said:
Say a human picks up a small-sized spiked made for a halfling. He can wield it as a medium weapon at -2 to hit. Does he still get reach?

Could you dual-wield small-sized spiked chains? Or how about a small-glaive in one hand and a light weapon in the other. That way you would have reach all the time.

What about a large-sized ogre wielding a human-sized spiked chain? Does he get reach? Does it really go to 20' when the chain itself only goes to 10' in a human's hands?

For the ogre, no - the rules specify that a Large creature gains reach when wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size. The Medium chain is a weapon of inappropriate size.

For a Small or Medium creature, however, it states that they can strike creatures 10 feet away (but not adjacent) when wielding a reach weapon. (The appropriate size requirement is not present.) A Small spiked chain or Small glaive is a reach weapon, so the human should get this effect as written. (Plus, it would seem odd for a halfling to be able to reach ten feet with a glaive, while a human with his extra height and longer arms could not with the same weapon!)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top