• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Running away skill challenge

draquila

First Post
I'm still pretty new to this DMing thing, and I need to design an encounter where the PCs are running away from a pack of wolves.

I take it the standard is just to make it a skill challenge, checking against Athletics or Endurance or something, and require N successes before M failures? That sounds really boring, though, it'd be completely by chance and there is no skill involved. Also, would you have everyone roll and take the worst one?

Any ideas for injecting some excitement or creativity into such an encounter?

Tony Vargas

Legend
Humanoids litterally can't outrun a pack of wolves, wolves are just faster. Wolves might well 'chase' them for a long while before attacking, to wear them down - common wolf behavior, AFAIK from the occassional nature-documentary - though.

If you want the Skill Challenge to be about escaping from the wolves, because the PCs are low enough level that they can't take them on, they'd have to reach a place of safety before the wolves exhaust them. Endurance would obviously be key. Athletics and Accrobatic could help, too - taking shortcuts by leaping streams or chasm or scampering accross a fallen tree or whatever. Nature should be a big help, since it would include understanding wolf behavior, how they track by scent, and how to lose them or scare them off - also, finding a place of relative safety, like a cave or settlement (History might help with that, too, revealing the location of an abandoned tower from an old border war or the like). Perception might help by being able to tell how far off they are.

So, as a start:

Primary Skills (moderate diff, can be rolled repeatedly)
Endurance (rolled exactly once per player, failures count - unless the party abandons the failing character)