D&D 5E Sell me on 5th…

Dannyalcatraz

Schmoderator
Staff member
Supporter
I’ve been playing since ‘77, and I’ve gotten to try most of the D&D stereotypes across the various editions. My fave so far has been 3.X, because of the flexibility.

As 3.5Ed ran its course, I started playing odder and odder characters, built using unusual classes & races. I haven’t gotten to play everything I wanted in that edition, and still design PCs with that ruleset. As time passed the more exotic they got.

I didn’t like 4Ed as much, but- again- had more PC concepts on paper than I ever got to play. I really liked that version of the Warlock, and some of the other options appealed to me on their own merits, inspiring different character concepts from 3.X.

But what I saw from the 5Ed playtest reports kinda left me cold. And many of the subsequent threads here over the years haven’t much moved me. However, a close friend is thinking about getting into 5Ed, and I’m wondering if I’m not giving the system a fair shake.

So, I’m looking for an overview of the races & classes available for PCs, to see if any of my unplayed characters would be supported by the latest edition, or if there are new esoteric options that might inspire me to create new heroes.

Wat’cha got?

A lot of DnD lore (past and present) was officially opened up to the community on Dungeon Masters Guild for use in 5e projects, which has produced a lot of excellent material beyond the official books. A lot of the stronger writers and a number of published authors have joined in, partly because of the stream of income that the site enables.

Clint_L

Hero
I started just a few years after you, and for me 5e feels like classic D&D but with a lot fewer logical inconsistencies. I think you're better googling for an overview of species and classes because...there's a lot, especially once you factor in sub-classes.