• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E Spell research

MG.0

First Post
Has anyone used spell research in 5th edition? Would you restrict it to Wizards?

Spell research would seem to not fit well with the concept of 'Spells Known' used by Sorcerers and Warlocks and archetypes of several other classes, but it seems unduly unfair that Wizards would be the only class that can research spells.

Regardless of whether or not you allow research, there is an issue DM custom spells will probably face: namely what class spell list they should belong to. I think it is more difficult to determine than in 1st or 2nd edition (I have no experience with 3rd or 4th). For example, in 1st you had Cleric spells (healing, alignment, dealing with undead, etc.) and Magic-User spells for elemental evoking, illusions, etc. But in 5th, what criteria do you use to say a spell is a better fit for say a Sorcerer or Warlock than a Wizard? I don't see a reliable pattern looking at the PHB.

Yes, I've used it. No, I don't restrict it to wizards. I've let druids research spells, and I would let a Sorcerer or Warlock research spells to add them to his personal "warlock spell list" so he can select them as "known spells" on his next level-up. Think of it kind of like a kid adding sheet music to his piano folder--he still has to practice the music until he really "knows" it enough to cast it at will under pressure.