• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Taking the plunge

First Post
Well I've decided to take the plunge and run a game. I've never done it before and I was wondering if all the great DMs who frequent the boards could give me some advice.

The campaign is set in the Forgotten Realms (If get a new setting is your advice, you need not respond. :D). I've decided to center it in the Moonshae Isles to take advantage of the small area, which is advice I've seen before, then, as both the players and I get established, I'll expand outward.

I think I have a nice little idea for an ongoing villian, but I'm not going to post it, because some of my players frequent the boards and I don't want them peeking. :)

Any advice is appreciated as always.

Thanks in advance,

Alan

Furn_Darkside

First Post
Salutations,

My advice, to get your feet wet, is to run a published adventure- even if it is just a one shot.

Sunless Citadel or Death in Freeport are good choices.

Read the adventure a couple of times- and look up the rules of any areas you are unsure of.

For example- If I know I am going to have grappling monster in the adventure, then I will make quick notes on the grappling rules so I won't have to look them up in the ph during the session.

Published adventures are also good for you to try your hand at pacing.

I am sure someone much more awake then I will offer better advice :)

FD

Crothian

First Post
Start small ands simple. It's good that you're in the FR because sometime the world is very tough. Don't worry about the big picture. Consentrate on the characters and a few key NPCs. Don't have them travel much, don't flood them with info. Don't be afraid to change anything in the realms. The best advice, is don't get flustered in the PCs do something unexpected. Best of luck to you.

yep