• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Teamspeak

Kareyev

First Post
Anyone who has spent any time traveling with others has experienced that moment where they see danger, but are unable to type a warning fast enough to save the day. Several other group I know of use various VOIP tools to get around this.

Today I ordered a new computer and have plans to convert my old computer into a teamspeak server for EN. Having this setup and in place is probably still about a month away as the computer is being used for other things at the moment, but I wanted to throw the idea out there to see if there is interest in having this available and in case someone is aware of a better way to go about it.

I have no experience doing anything like this so you will have to bear with me as I work through it. For those interested in learning more about Teamspeak see the link below.

http://www.goteamspeak.com/news.php

Vaslov

Last edited:

kotik2

First Post
Woo Hoo!

I thought about trying this, but when my stepson is here, all my router ports are full. But I have no idea how to get it done. I had been thinking about trying to find out how much a hosted one somewhere would cost as well, because it occured to me that it would need to be running basically 24/7 and that seemed a bit much to have going on in someone's house. I will go ahead and look into the costs of a hosted one, just to have the information...

barbarex

First Post
Hosting a teamspeak server would not use up much bandwidth, however just be sure that you do have a fast internet connection and a stable network (preferrably Cat5 cabling) and a router that can handle bandwidth sharing (unlike the one i have at my house where if my little brother decides to download something on his computer it gives him all the internet bandwidth :p).