D&D 5E The Virtues of a Dragon

Blue

Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal
I've been running a campaign for a little over three years and it's coming to an end. The very last thing they will likely do is reverse the magical genocide of the dwarves over 600 years ago. The main component of the massive ritual was the slaying of the last-of-a-kind that was at least as sentient as a dwarf. In this case, it was the last of the Dragons. And they need to bring it back to reverse the genocide.

Now, the skeleton of that dragon has actually been visible the entire campaign, hanging in the huge dome of the Imperial Library. And they will have access to a one-use item that can cast True Resurrection - a way to bring back one of the long dead members of the Imperial family in case of dire need. But True Resurrection only works for those dead up to 200 years.

This campaign is unique in that each of the characters is a Mask Bearer, one who has woken one of the 101 sentient artifact masks that history lies and says was made by the Imperium at it's peak. The true story is that they are the fossilized ghosts of the firstborn of the goddess who's body makes up the land. The Child-Empress they serve also woke a mask, who claims to be the one that "dreamt the dragons into existence".

So, I'm going to let them go to where the dragon dreams are and get a soul, and allow that to get around the time limitation of the True Resurrection. Originally I was going to have them go to a plane of dragon dreams, track down that dragon's soul, and fight it to come back. But we really just had a huge running battle involving the Regent who the Council of Nobles installed over the Child-Empress, etc. etc. I don't want the next few sessions to be another big battle.